Tahini and Honey Biscuits

Tahini and Honey Biscuits

Tahini and Honey Biscuits

Tahini is common in middle eastern cookery and a wonderfully nutritious ingredient. These biscuits combine tahini with honey to give a flavour that reminds me of peanut brittle. It’s really yummy. This recipe is easy to put together and makes around 25 small biscuits.

Ingredients

  • 50g tahini (I used the light tahini)
  • 50g butter
  • 50g honey
  • few drops of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 100g plain flour

Instructions

  1. Cream the tahini and butter until light and creamy.
  2. Mix in the honey and vanilla extract.
  3. Fold in the flour, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda.
  4. Bring the dough together  and add some milk if the dough is too dry (I used my hands to do this).
  5. Roll the dough into a sausage shape and wrap in cling film. Cool in the fridge or freezer for 30 minutes or so. It will be easily to slice when cool and firm.
  6. Once the dough is firm, unwrap and place on a cutting board. Slice into rounds (mine were about 1/2 cm thick) and place on a lined baking tray.
  7. Bake at 180C for 5-10 minutes. The time required will depend on the size of your biscuits (mine took 9 minutes). The biscuits are cooked when they start to brown around the edges. Be wary of overcooking them because they will become too dry. Leave them to cool for a few minutes on the tray before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.
  • Nutritional Highlights: Tahini has many nutritional highlights. It is a good source of zinc, magnesium, calcium, protein and includes various other vitamins too.
  • First served at: 22 months
  • A-L rating: ‘More’ (she liked them!)
  • Freezer friendly? Yes. I bake a batch and then take a few biscuits out as I need them. It may also be possible to freeze the dough but I haven’t tried this.
  • Adult adaption: These biscuits are nice as they are.

Tahini and Honey Biscuits

5 thoughts on “Tahini and Honey Biscuits

  1. I’ve happily frozen biscuit/gingerbread dough wrapped in cling & defrosted then baked successfully afterwards. Saves stamping a million gingerbread shapes & baking too many trays in one go 😉

  2. I made these today – they were yummy and my friend thought so too! They were all gone by lunch time so I had to make another batch so daddy could have some after work. I love that idea of putting them in the fridge and then slicing them. These are going to be a staple for our freezer now. I quite imagine myself making them every day!! Thanks again for the wonderful recipes, we can’t wait to try the others 🙂

    • Brilliant, thanks for letting us know. I’m glad that you all enjoyed them. I currently have a stash of these biscuits in our freezer that we are trying to ration out slowly!

  3. Pingback: Rice Crispy Cakes with Tahini and Honey | Broccoli and Rice Cakes

Leave a comment