Simple Strawberry and Vanilla Mousse

Simple Strawberry and Vanilla Mousse

Simple Strawberry and Vanilla Mousse

Hooray, it’s strawberry season in the UK! This means that strawberries are sweet, juicy and delicious as they should be. The little lady and I love to eat strawberries straight from the punnet (…or from the garden if only our strawberry plants grew some actual fruit). But, when the strawberries lose their shine and get a bit too squidgy then this is one of the recipes that I make. I also make this dish when I happen across a bulk load of strawberries going for a song at the supermarket.

This pudding is brilliant, especially for kids, because 1) it is highly nutritious and filled with protein, iron, calcium, vitamin C and other great stuff, 2) it’s simple to make and can be frozen, and 3) my two year old loves it (for proof, see below). So, I hear you ask, what is the secret of this wonder pudding?   …It’s tofu. You may well have guessed. I have used tofu in another toddler-loving pudding (chocolate and prune mousse) and am becoming a big fan of this ingredient as I learn how to use it properly (previous attempts have ended up with deep fried plastic or slimy stir fries). Anyhow, enough of my tofu tales, here is a great recipe for little ones from weaning and beyond. This yields around 3-4 puddings.

Ingredients

  • 200g strawberries, hulled and halved
  • Few drops of vanilla essence
  • 125g tofu, silken or firm
  • 1-2 tbsp maple syrup

Instructions

  1. Put the strawberries and 1 tbsp of maple syrup in a small pan. Warm gently until the strawberries are beginning to release their juices and soften. Cook/ simmer for 10-15 minutes. The strawberries are ready when they are completely soft (and there will be quite a lot of strawberry juice- see photo below). Set aside to cool.
  2. Once cool, blend the strawberries into a sauce/ puree.
  3. Add the vanilla essence and tofu to the strawberries. Blend until smooth. Add more maple syrup (if required) and blend again.
  4. Refrigerate.

Simple Strawberry and Vanilla Mousse

  • Nutritional Highlights: This pudding is essentially strawberries and tofu so has all the benefits of both ingredients. This means vitamin C, fibre, protein, iron, calcium and more!
  • First served at: 26 months
  • A-L rating: She had a big appetite for this ‘strawbree mousse’. She was so keen to eat it that she didn’t want to wait for the portion to defrost so licked and nibbled on the frozen version.
  • Freezer friendly? Yes
  • Adult adaption: I haven’t tried it but adding some sambuca to the strawberries would be a nice enhancement.

Simple Strawberry and Vanilla Mousse

Simple Strawberry and Vanilla MousseSimple Strawberry and Vanilla Mousse

4 thoughts on “Simple Strawberry and Vanilla Mousse

  1. I normally can’t get on with tofu at all – childhood memories of my Mum attempting to make it palatable are not very positive as I seem to remember it tasted like unseasoned rubber! I do wonder about using it in desserts though. This looks so tasty I might give it a go for my three year old and I!

    • Yes, I know what you mean about bad experiences/associations with tofu. I am instantly wary of meat substitutes and tofu has typically fallen under this category in my book. BUT, I am slowly realising that tofu is actually quite a wonder ingredient (in terms of versatility and nutrition) and can be really great if prepared properly. Let me know how you and your 3 year old get on with this dish- it does have a nice strawberry flavour and I don’t know if I’d suspect that tofu was an ingredient if I hadn’t been the one to make it!

Leave a Reply

